special services
Contact us at:

Ohio Crankshaft
5453 ST RT 49 S
Greenville, OH 45331

Phone: 937-548-7113
Fax: 937-548-4603

7am-5pm M-F E

5/7/08 - First Annual OHIO CRANKSHAFT
NO BOX NATIONALS gets off to a slow start but finishes fast!

- Joe Robertson

As the weekend approached the weather was not looking promising and calls from all over the Midwest flooded the phones with racers wanting news on whether the race was going to take place. As the rain came down on Friday we received our window of opportunity and took it. The great staff and crew at Bunker Hill Dragstrip prepped the track and we were making time runs by Friday at 5:30 p.m.
As the rain subsided the racers that came rain or shine made 3 to 5 time runs Friday evening. We decided to give the gamblers race a shot. We had approximately 40 racers in the Gamblers race that evening. Chris Walters took the win over Curt McClure. McClure went red by .009 in the final to hand the win to Chris.

- Eric Bowling

As Saturday morning came, the weather looked better than Friday. We knew that the race was a go and so was the wind. It came in fast and strong. I think at one point it hit 40 mph. The racers were in for the long haul and we had a good turnout. With over 100 entries the race began on a great foot!
The racers were there to compete and it was evident by all the great lights and races that were decided by mere thousandths. The race ran smooth with no oil downs. We finished up the ‘main event’ and a separate Second Chance Race by a record 9:00 p.m.
In the ‘main event’ Eric Bowling took the win over Chad Isley. Both drivers were almost a dead even off the line with a mere two thousandths between the lights. Both drivers ran one over their dial-in with Eric taking the victory by five thousandths of a second. It was a great race and both drivers did a great job!

We had several racers receive round prizes that were awarded as well. In the UMDRA.com Bounty Hunter winner Tim Cmar received the $50 bounty for eliminating Rob Lash in round one. VP Fuels gave the winner of both days 55 gallons of fuel and 15 gallons of fuel to the runner up. Olson Paint and Body donated ten $25 gas cards to be given to anyone who was not still in competition after the third round. Also a special thanks to Brian Olson himself for taking time out of his schedule to grace the airwaves with his commentary.
We also had several other companies that donated gift certificates to be given away during the race. Jegs donated 2 $50 gift certificates to one best losing package and one best winning package. Port-a-tree also donated 6 $40 gift certificates to anyone who was not still in competition after the third round. NitroPlate gave eight $75 gift certificates to be awarded to the best winning and the best losing packages of 1st and 2nd round on both days! Thanks to all the sponsors that helped make this weekend a success!
The Second Chance Race on Saturday was another magnificent show of racers talent. When it came down the final, Brian Cirredeu, in his 1967 Chevy Camaro, took the win over Darrell Hurt in his 350 cubic inch small block Chevy powered dragster.
With Sunday came sunshine and another great day of racing! Once the racing began there was no stopping the killer reaction times and dead on dials! In the first two rounds of competition on Sunday there were six perfect reaction times! Joe Robertson in his Ford Maverick defeated ‘Slick’ Rick Baehr in his 1984 Chevy Camaro to claim the victory in Sundays Main Event. Joe had a .002 reaction time and ran dead on with an 8 to seal the victory.
Overall, the race was a success and we wanted to thank all the racers for their support along with the Bunker Hill staff for their hard work and smooth running program! We look forward to building on our program next year and want to continue to provide an opportunity for No Box Racers in the area to run for a huge amount of money.

diamond logo

all images and text copyright © - 1994 to current date - Ohio Crankshaft and related companies involved